Are you burntout?


Prayer Of Surrender

Prayer Of Surrender (Photo credit: gregsilva)

I have no idea how many times I have experienced burnout in my life. Before I found the Lord, I tried many different avenues to fill the void in my heart. I am speaking of occupational, recreational, and addiction as well. Many people who don’t have a personal/intimate relationship with Jesus Christ can fall into the abyss of numbness. Self-Medication is what I call it, a means to escape the reality of what God gave them instinctively. Why? Other than denial, laziness, and the lack of accountability if you will. A person who doesn’t know Christ has a variety of masks they choose from each day to avoid the deep yearning in the heart to step up to the plate. It’s easier to focus on the faults of another than to look inside self.

We are born sinners, and that is human nature. It is easier to point the finger at another to take the focus off yourself. Even as a Christian, we are living in a fast paced, over worked world, we still encounter the tiring numbness of burnout. How should a believer in Christ respond to these feelings?

1. We must SURRENDER all. This doesn’t mean to throw your hands up in the air declaring that you “give up.” That is not an option when we walk by faith my friends. We should surrender everything we have to the Lord, for the hand of God is large enough to handle anything we need.

Isaiah 45:12 says; I have made the earth, And created man on it. I-My hands-stretched out the heavens, And all their host I have commanded. What does this mean? It means when we, in our own strength try to keep everything in our hands, we will eventually begin to drop them all.

2. We must DEPEND on Him 100%. Have you ever given something to the Lord, then find yourself trying to take it back out of His hands? Our human nature leans towards fixing things ourselves. Revelation! Only God has the power along with perspective to bring all matters to the correct conclusion.

Romans 11:33-36 says; Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and His ways past finding out! “For who has known the mind of the Lord? Or who has become His counselor?” “Or who has first given to Him, And it shall be repaid to Him?” For of Him and through Him and to Him are all things, to whom be glory forever Amen. Therefore, when we make an attempt to take something back from Him, we only interfere with the solution He wants to bring about in our lives, and His solution is PERFECT!

3. Trust Him with all your heart, mind, and soul. This is a truly vital point. God loves you friend! Because of His great love for you brother/sister, He wants to take care of you. Do not allow pride to seep into your heart. Because He wants to take care of you-He wants to handle all of your worries.

Matthew 6:25-34 says; “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; not about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? “Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? “Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; “and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. “Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? “Therefore, do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ “For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

Think about it. As a Christian we are to do what God tells us to do, nothing extra. I say this because sometimes we can feel like we aren’t doing enough to promote the kingdom of God. He doesn’t want you to run yourself into exhaustion by doing good deeds or church work. Our loving Father wants you to experience His rest that you may rejoice in His promises. Nothing more, nothing less. TRUST in HIM!

Matthew 11:29-30 says; “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. “For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” We all need rest, when we find it in Jesus, He promises to give it to us. This is imperative to our spiritual being, He will not punish us for being weak, or be angry at us for being foolish. His promise is far greater than any person, with great compassion He will gently and humbly refresh our souls. Won’t you rest in His promises?

Maybe you have come to the end of your rope, however, I have good news for you. How great is our God? He transcends all human understanding, therefore, He never will. Just in case you haven’t heard, the everlasting God, Lord, Creator of the ends of the earth does not grow faint nor is weary, His wisdom is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might, strength is bestowed upon them. Even the youth will grow faint and weary in life. The young men shall utterly fall, but those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31.

For those who are enveloped in carnal life, suffering from burnout, this is your day to reach out and take the hand of the One True Living God. Salvation is right at your fingertips, why don’t you reach out to a hand far greater than yours and be delivered from bondage. By the grace of God you could experience the greatest gift known to all humanity, “ETERNAL LIFE.” It’s all yours, the only thing stopping you is YOU! Come drink from the fount that will set you free.

To all my Christian brothers and sisters who may be experiencing burnout, close your eyes, envision the flame that you first embraced as you began your journey with God. He hasn’t left you, feel His presence all around you. Maybe you have become so busy allowing yourself to become preoccupied with inadequate thoughts, for instance, I’m not doing enough for my Lord so I must keep toiling. Do not be  flattered by the vanity of your mind, you will fall short of the great plan God has for your life. Instead, seek Him, spend time with Him, and pray for revelation/guidance in your life. Get with God, say Lord, lately I feel like I’m retired, yet I want refired for I love serving you. I need the fire I once had, O’ Lord rekindle me for your glory, your honor, and your praise. Thank you Jesus! Now just relax and wait on Him. Friends, have a wonderful day!

Youth leader,

 

 

 

 

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Are you burntout?

  1. Pingback: Wait on the Lord, Learn to Fly!

Leave a comment