God is so good


So Friday night after work I came home and felt exhausted. I decided to lay down on my bed and take a little ten minute power nap before I did anything else. When I opened my eyes I looked at the time and it said 2:30 a.m. I couldn’t believe it, I had so much to do because Saturday is the big car show here in Ottawa. We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps. Proverbs 16:9.

So I decided to make some coffee, engage in some quiet time with the Lord, and then ride my bike to the gym. After that I would get things I need to get done before the car show gets started.

Super Natural

Super Natural

I then decided to go to the laundry mat to do my laundry. It’s 6:00 o’clock in the morning now. I was the first one inside the building, then another gentleman arrived. We ended up talking about the Lord for about an hour. He began to share his divorce with me. I thought that was pretty ironic because I just went through one myself.

Our stories are pretty similar in many ways except his kids were grown up when they divorced and mine was a little over a year old. God works in mysterious ways my friends, he knows what we need before we do. However, I really don’t know what I gained from that conversation to be quite hones. Him and his wife get along and still spend time together with one another.

After that I came back to my apartment. My neighbor behind me was getting ready for their day of auction. Bud, I call him doc because he delivered me when I was born, and his wife were outside directing traffic. They are in their eighties now and the house they live in is huge. Doc is suffering from knee problems so he can hardly go up and down the steps any longer. They decided to downsize and bought a new home which is much smaller than this house.

When I saw them milling around in the yard I went over to say hello and to look at all the things. I couldn’t believe my eyes, I’ve been in the house before and I’m still trying to fathom how all these things came out of there. As I was browsing a lady came up to me and asked me what I would like to have out of all the things in the yard. I looked and said nothing, I don’t need any of this stuff. Then she said what is it that you want. I said out of all this stuff if I had my choice, I would like to have the original portrait of John Wayne over there. Her response was unreal, she said I can’t believe Bud is going to part with that, it’s his favorite.

It was about time to go meet my friend on the Santa Fe Trail for the car show. I went up and grabbed my things and took off walking. I met Corey at eleven and we walked all over the place enjoying the cars from all over the states. It was about four when we decided to take a break. We walked back to my house and I drove him to his place. While waiting for the car cruise I went and seen a friend who just got out of the hospital.

When I left there, Harve, my grandpa text me and said there were a few items leftover from the auction, Corey and I should come see if we would like any of it. I told him we were getting ready to watch the 2004 cars cruise the town and that we would be over around eight o’clock. He said that would be great. He said there is a real nice recliner I think you would like. Corey’s sister ended up being with us and she is pregnant at this time. I told her about the auction and the things that were left over. She told me she didn’t have a chair to rock the baby in.

When eight o’clock rolled around we went back to the house. I seen all the things on the porch. It was a real nice rocking recliner as matter of fact and several different dishes. Heather came over and quickly fancied the recliner. I said if you want it, it’s yours. Then she said I walked by this house all the time when I was a little girl and always wondered what it looked like on the inside. I yelled at Jody, Harve’s wife and she came out on the porch. I said would you give Heather and her friend Amy a tour of the house and she said she’d love to.

When we went inside we walked through the kitchen and into the dining room. Allow me to add this, it is a huge mansion built back in the early 1900’s. The outside is block limestone and limestone pillars. The girls were in awe and making all sorts of gasping sounds. Jody turned the light on in the dining room and I said what! Are you serious? You got that picture. The portrait of John Wayne was sitting on the table. I couldn’t believe it. Jody said now Michael, don’t you tell Harve you seen that. I said alright.

As we left the dining area heading out in the rotunda I saw Harve in his smoking chair smoking a cigar. He said what’s up son? I said the girls are touring the house. He said I got you a birthday present would you like it plain or would you like it wrapped. I said grandpa it doesn’t matter, you didn’t need to get me a gift.

After that Corey and I loaded the truck up and took the chair and a few dishes to his sister’s house. She kept thanking me for the chair but I didn’t do anything. When I got back to the house I went inside and Harve gave me the portrait of John Wayne. I was filled with joy. I said how did you know. He said I remember your dad being a big John Wayne fan, he was his favorite, and he had all of his things which I got when my dad passed. My dad would have loved that portrait. John Wayne just happens to be one of my favorites even though he was way before my time. I use to sit and watch him with my dad when I was little. Know what I mean pilgrim:)

So in my mind I broke it down. I figure when I was gone some time that morning Harve came outside and Mary Lynn saw him and told him about the picture so he bought it. Well, I was wrong once again. He did what a real good friend does, he listened while I was talking to him. So it was an awesome day, I ended up with the one thing that I wanted from that auction and I wasn’t even there. God is so good. Thank you Lord for all that you do. I hope you enjoyed this story, I thought it was quite amazing myself:) Be blessed, you’re in my prayers and please pray for me.

Youth leader,

Michael

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Encouragement, faith, God, HolySpirit, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Life, SPIRIT Ministries, testimony, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

