Sign and Wonders


Let me start this out by saying it’s been awhile. I have been rather busy the last couple of months at work being the year-end and spending time remodeling an apartment I will soon be living in. I really don’t know where to begin because God is doing so many great and mighty things even as I pen these words. There are a couple of stories I would like to share with Lighthouseyou because they are truly awesome.

It all started out just before Thanksgiving, I know that not all of us celebrate Thanksgiving as a National Holiday. No big deal, but I know that every day we should be giving thanks to the one who laid it all down that we may have eternal life with the Father in heaven. As many knew I didn’t have any set plans for Thanksgiving. Out of the clear blue a friend texted me and invited me to Thanksgiving dinner at a really elegant hotel by the KU campus in Lawrence, Kansas. It just so happened that he had an extra seat with his reservations. First thing that came to my mind was Romans 8:28 which says; And God causes all things to work together for the good for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. Therefore I accepted the invite.

When we arrived at the hotel my friend dropped us off in front while he went and parked. We walked inside and I couldn’t believe my eyes. I have never seen anything like this my entire life except for on television. Everything was so perfectly in order, and the people were dressed to kill. I was at a loss for words for a few seconds. I was in awe for quite some time. My friend found us waiting for him in the waiting room which was really nice. We all sat down on some really nice chairs. That’s when they informed me that their older daughter should be here shortly. I had no idea that she was coming to this dinner.

While we were talking Jen walked up and gave her mom and dad a hug, looked at me and said hey Mike, I didn’t know you were going to be here. I said it was a last-minute invite. Anyway, Jen was talking to her mother and presented her with this gift. Her mother looked at it and I could tell that she wasn’t quite sure what it was. There are these things, I don’t even know the name of them, they are long and skinny, resemble a green bean that falls out of trees. So I found out that some people gather these pod like things, dry them out, paint designs on them and call them protectors. She told her mother that she could place them on the outside of the door, on the window seals, etc. Her mother said and the point is. Jen said it would keep all evil from coming in.

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing to be quite honest. Jen’s dad is a great man of faith and her mother believes in the Lord as well. I have met Jen a couple of times, she is an older lady, a retired attorney who when she was younger traveled all over the world. She has come to a couple of my speaking engagements and she knows what I am all about. Suddenly she looked right at me and said Mike, what’s your take on this. I said do you really want to know and she said yes. I said I have only one protector, that is the ONE TRUE LIVING GOD! He is all I need and I feel like he is about to show you a great sign.

She looked at me like wow, really. Then the lady arrived to show us our table. My friend and his wife were already on their way when I stood up. I stood up and took maybe one step when Jen said hey Mike stop. I stopped and she said you have a white feather on the back of your sweater. She said can I have it. I said but of course you may have it, it was for you all along. She said what are you talking about. I told you God was going to show you a great sign. I said the feather is a sign from heaven meaning that my guardian angels are right here with us. This is one way they communicate with us, believe that. Then she stuck it in her purse and began smiling. Then we went and ate. I thought that was pretty amazing.

I have been waiting to hear some good news that is related to this feather and I received it yesterday. My friend informed me that his daughter was down for Christmas break and they all got into a little family dispute when Jen popped up and said  dad, I believe this is something we should all pray about. Then he told me he thought why didn’t I think of that. I just started laughing. Since then their family has made major head way. It’s truly awesome.

Just when I thought that feather story was amazing God showed me something even greater. I have many friends at the First Baptist Church so on the weekend before Christmas something, or should I say this small still voice told me to go to that service so I did. The service began with the usual announcements from the Pastor, then with some prayer, then some music, and now for the miracle. I have been to many Baptist services and have not once seen an individual get up and share their testimony before the congregation. I just couldn’t believe it my friends, and then the Pastor looked at me and smiled. After that more prayer. The Pastor began to pray and in the middle of his prayer that voice told me to open my eyes. First thought that popped into my mind was are you sure, I don’t want to be disrespectful, and again it said open your eyes.

So I slowly opened my eyes in awe and wonder. The church is two stories and in the front is a cross that goes from the ground level to the top. It is so beautiful, and to top it off this light is shining all over it, it’s a beacon. As I look I see white feathers floating aimlessly, as if they were basking in the light of Christ. I thought about tapping my friend on the arm but I thought again. I figured if God wanted him to see it he would tell him as well. I just smiled and closed my eyes. It was so peaceful after that.

After the Baptist service me and grandpa headed to the Assembly of God service in a neighboring town. I said grandpa, did you happen to see any feathers at the service today, he said no Mike I didn’t and just smiled. Then I said grandpa, have you ever seen anyone other than the Pastor share at the Baptist Church in all your years there, once again he said no Mike. I was in awe for the rest of the day, all I could say is Thank you Lord for all that you do. The Holy Spirit is truly awesome!

Believe it or not I have more good stories to share so when I get more time I will do what I do. God bless you all and Happy New Year.

Youth leader,

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Blessed, Challenges, Encouragement, faith, God, HolySpirit, Honored, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Life, SPIRIT Ministries, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

