True and False Worship


Childlike faith:)

Childlike faith:)

Did Jesus command us to fast? The answer to this question is no. However, he does expect us to do so because it is a part of true worship. Allow me to share Matthew 6:16-18 with you. Jesus said, And when you fast, don’t make it obvious, as the hypocrites do, for they try to look miserable and disheveled so people will admire them for their fasting. I tell you the truth, that is the only reward they will ever get. But when you fast, comb your hair and wash your face. Then no one will notice that you are fasting, except your Father, who knows what you do in private. And your Father, who sees everything, will reward you. NLT.

John 8:32 says; If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free. NLT. The Scripture I just quoted means exactly what it says. It means nothing else, if the said scripture is taken out of context to fit anyone’s belief it is deception, don’t be led astray my friends, check what you hear in your Bible.

From my own experience I have entered seasons when it seemed liked the ceiling just closed up on me, meaning my prayers were just bouncing back. I really didn’t understand what was going on at that point in time. Then one day the Lord spoke to me and said you need to dig a little deeper in your relationship with me. I pondered that for a bit and realized that there is so much more to this. What did I do? I decided to go on a fast which brought break-through after break-through. The ceiling to no avail was drawn back, I was basking in the heavens once again.

Fasting has become a regular part of my worship and I could set here and pen story after story on what God has done in my life and the lives of others. I love the Lord with my all and I love a good challenge as well. My greatest challenge thus far in my life is my beautiful wonderful wife Emily and my little girl Alice are currently residing in Australia which makes it very hard for me. I haven’t seen or held my little girl since she took her first breath. They have no plan of returning to the United States of America. Myself, I have no clue what God is doing about this. However, I do know His word says let no man put asunder what God has brought together.

Before this happened with Emily and I, I spent a lot of time praying and I fasted now and then. It was to the point I didn’t think I could do it anymore than I already am. Guess what? I was wrong again, I have grown even closer to God. I often afflict myself with loving sacrifice that the captives be set free. I know fasting can take what seems to be a tragic situation and flip it over for a greater good. Praise His Holy Name!

This is true worship. Isaiah 58:6-14 says; No, this is the kind of fasting I want; Free those who are wrongly imprisoned; lighten the burden of those who work for you. Let the oppressed go free, and remove the chains that bind people. Share your food with the hungry, and give shelter to the homeless. Give clothes to those who need them, and do not hide from relatives who need your help.

Then your salvation will come like the dawn, and your wounds will quickly heal. Your godliness will lead you forward, and the glory of the Lord will protect you from behind. Then when you call, the Lord will answer. Yes, I am here, he will quickly reply.

Remove the heavy yoke of oppression. Stop pointing your finger and spreading vicious rumors! Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon. The Lord will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry and restoring your strength. You will be like a well watered garden, like an ever-flowing spring. Some of you will rebuild the deserted ruins of your cities. Then you will be known as a rebuilder of walls and a restorer of homes. I must say this, I hope one of these homes is mine.

Keep the Sabbath day holy. Don’t pursue your own interests on that day, but enjoy the Sabbath and speak of it with delight as the Lord’s holy day. Honor the Sabbath in everything you do on that day, and don’t follow your own desires or talk idly. Then the Lord will be your delight. I will give you great honor and satisfy you with the inheritance I promised to your ancestor Jacob. I, the Lord, have spoken. NLT

So I must encourage you, if you feel like something has happened in your relationship with God, don’t give up, dig a little deeper and see what happens. Besides that, there is nothing more important than seeing the lost be found. Without doubt, one of them could be your spouse, your child, your brother, or even your sister. So what are you waiting for show the Lord that you want to take Him a little deeper. The only thing stopping you, is you.

God bless you all and please pray for my wife and child in Melbourne, Australia. Thank you Lord.

Youth leader,

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Blessed, Challenges, Encouragement, faith, God, HolySpirit, Honored, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Life, SPIRIT Ministries, testimony, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

