Being Wise


When I think about wisdom I am inclined to meditate on the word of God. Not only that, I think about the mystery of the owl. Think about it, an owl sitting in a tree sees everything that is going on around him. The more he sees, the less he speaks. The less he speaks, the more he hears. Why can’t we all be like this wise old owl?

Emily's box

Emily’s box

Believe it or not, there is a connection between wisdom and limiting the words we speak, or even what we say. Proverbs 10:19 says; “In a multitude of words sin is not lacking, but he who restrains his lips is wise.”

Therefore, we are to be wise about what we say or how much we say in given situations. We should be encouraged to guard our words when we become angry. This will prevent unnecessary apologies in the long run. James urged his fellow believers, “Be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath”. James 1:19. Restraining our words is also a wonderful reverence to our great and mighty God.

You may be familiar with the words of Solomon who said, “God is in heaven, and you on this earth; therefore let your words be few. Eccl. 5:2. While Job illustrates how silence is effective in certain situations like grieving. When others are grieving, our silent presence may help more than abundant expressions of sympathy: “No one spoke a word to him, for they saw that his grief was very great”. Job 2:13.

Although there is a time to be quiet and a time to speak, Eccl. 3:7, choosing to speak less allows us to hear more. Lord please grant us the wisdom to know when to speak and when to listen, help us encourage others and to care for them as You have cared for us.

Youth leader,

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Being Wise

  1. Donna says:

    So true. Thank you Lord, for the encouraging words you have given our brother to write. You know I never had an opportunity to really get to know my grandmother. She loved the Lord so much. She was a quiet woman. I think she was wise like an owl. Listened for the Lord to speak. She prayed always. Mom didn’t seem to like her much but I think it was because she spoke little. I was not raised in a Christian home and so mom did not understand grandmas quietness. Therefore I did not have a chance to get to know her. I was about 28 years old when she died. I just turned 50 on December 20th 2014. She died about a year after her first born and my dad died. I learned something so important through that which would forever be engraved in my mind. When we buried my dad everyone says the comforting things…he is in a better place now. He is in Heaven. Then grandma died. Even though I did not know her well our much at all, the ONE thing I knew for sure was a comfort that she really was where she longed her whole life to be! There was peace in that. I began to question where my dad was. I guess I can’t know. He was raised in a Christian home and so I hope that just before he died alone that early morning before mom got up that he had time and sense to call out to our Father in Heaven. I have to hope inn that. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt about grandma and from that I know that I want my children to know when I die that I too am in that better place because they truly know it and not because of words someone is simply saying to try to comfort those grieving.

  2. Alan Baglien says:

    I like checking in. still great stuff, I’ve moved http://thegospelofbarney.com Hope you’ll drop by!

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog. Moreso, thank you for the message of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

