“Truly Amazing”


Photo Credit Wikipedia

Photo Credit Wikipedia

I would like to share an amazing story with you my friends. Many of you know that I did many years in prison. Given the opportunity, would I change it? I can say absolutely not. Why you may ask? Prison is where I met my best friend and many good brothers. My best friend happens to be Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior.

I met  a guy in prison many years ago. It was before I ever knew anything about Jesus Christ, God, or the Holy Spirit. I was living in the flesh full throttle. I was in the long-term segregation unit in El Dorado under investigation for my conduct. One day they released me from segregation and placed me in his living unit. He got me a job in the laundry and we became good friends. We looked out for one another until he was transferred to Lansing.

That’s the last time I ever saw him until the year 2008. I was in Lansing max where I found the Lord in 2007. They did a parole violation on him in New York and sent him back to Kansas to do his time. Where did they send him? Exactly! Lansing max. He ran into me on the yard and we had the opportunity to catch up. I told him all about giving my life to God and he didn’t seem to mind. He did his little 90 day parole violation and was on his way.

I didn’t know if I would ever see him again to be honest. Six years later I get a letter in the mail from him. He told me he was living in Baltimore, Maryland and was going through some trials and tribulations. He later mentioned that he might head this way. Saturday night my wife and I were camping in the front yard for the fun of it.

As I was about to fall asleep I saw a flash of light go through the tent. I got up and saw headlights coming down the drive way. It came to a stop and a man exited the vehicle. I thought to myself who could it be this late at night. I unzipped the tent door quietly and stepped outside into the fresh night air while observing the man in question.

I took a deep breath and said can I help you? The man immediately said, “Teter is that you?” I said yes. He said, “it’s me Mark.” I thought wow this is crazy. I went up to him and we slapped hands just like we did in the joint while smiling at one another. We talked for a bit. Suddenly  the Lord placed it on my heart to invite him to stay the night and join us for church the next morning. He said he would love to. That was a real blessing.

We all got up the next morning, we got ready for church, and then we were on our way. It was exciting to watch how the Holy Spirit was moving him. As John 8:32 says; If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free. The guest speaker ended by doing an altar call inviting anyone who doesn’t know Jesus down to the front. My bro stood up, slid between the pews, and went forward. It was the most amazing experience my friends. I got to see my bro give his life to the Lord, I could see the relief in his eyes, and the peace in his heart.

After church we went and had lunch. We talked for quite some time, went back to the house, and he was on his way. If some one would have told me ten years ago that Mark and I would be riding in the same car traveling to church that he may give his life to the Lord I would have just laughed. Goes to show, we have absolutely no clue what the Lord has in store for us. He is the grand designer of all things and it’s a beautiful thing as well.

Youth leader,

 

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Blessed, Encouragement, faith, God, HolySpirit, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Life, SPIRIT Ministries, testimony, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Truly Amazing”

  1. Hope Turner says:

    Your story is the reason I’ll never be embarrassed by churches that do alter calls. Often the Holy Spirit has been softening the heart of someone (like me) and by the time they get to church, they KNOW they want to go up and get right with the Lord, professing their new love and thankfulness to the Lord for His salvation and mercy, as they start their new life in Him. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Donna says:

    Reblogged this on On the Edge Again and commented:
    Great testamony from a brother in Christ!

      • Donna says:

        Sharing testimony…I think of these verses. Revelation 12:9-11 The great dragon was hurled down…that ancient serpent called the devil, or Satan, who leads the whole world astray. He was hurled to the earth,and his angels with him. 10- Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say; “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of his Christ. For the accuser of our brothers, who accuses them before our God day and night, has been hurled down. 11- THEY OVERCAME HIM BY THE BLOOD OF THE LAMB AND BY THE WORD OF THEIR TESTIMONY; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.

  3. Donna says:

    Great! Thanks for making me cry! Tears of joy and of yet again seeing God work something we would have not thought possible!
    I love this story and I did not know you had been in prison. That makes your testimony even stronger my brother! I have had to be brought to many low places myself in order to be brought closer to the Lord and to finally really begin the relationship with Him that He intends for all of us. I like you would not change any of those low places in my life. Though they were hard and painful they would be the times I can look back on and really see the hand of God right there with me the entire way. Can I have permission to reblog this? Love you brother…your sister in Christ.

Leave a Reply

