Brothers in Christ


brothers in Christ

Michael, Gary, Don, Curtis, Pastor of Lyndon Methodist Church, Jeff, and Will.

This last week has truly been a Romans 8:28 week for Emily and I. The Providence of God was really shining through as we continued in our journey together. Romans 8:28 says; And God causes all things to work together for the good for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. It is truly amazing how he works things out in our lives for the good.

This instance started out one night as we were shopping at the local Wal-Mart Supercenter for some necessities. As we were standing in the check out line I noticed this fella in front that look quite familiar to me. I said to Emily, I think I did time in Lansing with this guy. Him and I made eye contact and he said, “You don’t have any hair brother.” I just laughed for a minute as I walked to him to shake his hand and give him a hug. I said brother, “God is so good.” He just smiled and said yes he is. We talked for a few to catch up with one another.

I asked him if he knew my friend Gary and he said as matter of fact I do. Gary and I and a few others travel to different churches doing drama skits in the name of the Lord. He gave me Gary’s phone number so I called him. It was really great to hear his voice. Gary and I go way back to when I first started doing time. Gary took me under his wing and I will leave it at that:)

Anyway, I called him and we got together one evening after I returned from taking Emily to the doctor’s office. We had a great conversation, and he filled me in on what he has been doing since his release. Then he told me they were going to be at the Methodist Church in Lyndon, KS this Sunday and that we should come to it. I told him that we would be there.

That morning we got ready and we traveled to Lyndon, KS not knowing what the Lord had in store. In a nutshell, it was a great service. The Holy Spirit was shining like I had never seen before. God’s children were so responsive to everything that was going on. It was truly amazing and truly divine.

The worship was so genuine my friends, and God’s children were so loving. Gary and the fellas did their skit on prayer and explained how it is a relationship between us and God. Then Gary gave the message on “RAGS”, simply conveying that only the Lord can take away the old filthy rags and give us new rags that clothe our heart.

He went on to explain how he became free in prison by illustrating John 8:32 which says; If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free. And he used John 8:36 as well which says; So if the Son sets you free, you will indeed be free. It took me back in time for a minute, all I could see was a vision of the prison and how we use to run around together doing what we did and now we are in the same church many years later. The scope of it is unreal, I never would have thought I would see this day. God is so good, truly awesome and yet so wonderful.

The most amazing thing I seen that morning was at the end of the service when the Pastor asked if anyone would like to come down front and pray for these guys and their families please do so. I was in shock, the entire congregation came forth like a rushing mighty wind, I mean every one of them. I closed my eyes and said thank you God, thank you.

Then we all got together and took a few pictures. I will share one of them with you. I guess what I am trying to convey in this writing is that nothing is too big for God. I mean absolutely nothing!

God bless you all and I pray that His blessings rain upon you all your days.

Youth leader,

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Blessed, Encouragement, faith, God, HolySpirit, Jesus, Jesus Christ, Life, SPIRIT Ministries, testimony, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brothers in Christ

  1. Donna says:

    Walk. Good grief

  2. Donna says:

    He had the guts not guys to eslk…correction.

  3. Donna says:

    I suppose their was a reason I have went in this bonanza reading of your blog this morning. I needed some encouragement. Last night I found myself feeling sad and alone. Not alone in my home but alone non the less. About 22 years ago when I began to really be getting to know the Lord for the first time in my life, Romans 8:28 was the first verse I memorized and clung to. Still a favorite of mine. I praised God even in the bad times, why? Because I knew He could use all things for the good if we simply allowed our believing to embrace that even though we couldn’t see how just yet. He always has and therefore that is still a favorite of mine. Back to why I need encouragement today. I see the madness going on in this world all around us. I am surrounded by some who say they believe but I feel most of the time like it is simply words they say to me because they either want to shut me up or they just want to say what they know I want to hear. My husband. My two sons (both Navy men)…both seem to avoid my calls like the plague these days and usually don’t respond to my email or texts. My step children who are all grown. I heard last night about my youngest step daughter who is 19 that she told my daughter in law who mentioned to me yesterday that she is not sure she believes all that. The bible is a nice book with good morals for stories. What? I felt sick. So, I have a son who told me when he was 15 he was an atheist and that about killed me. (I think that is what he was shooting for at the time.) Then my oldest was baptized at 10 at the same time I was. He had the guys to walk down to the front during alter call…I was thinking it and felt him move and opened my eyes to see my shy 10 year old walking and thought of he can walk then so can I! He is now 32 and I personally feel he had drifted from the Lord. His wife acts one way around me and my husband shares things with me she puts on face book that i do not want to know, hence why I am not on face book. So she clearly has two different sides. I have twin strains who say they are atheist. (I personally think one of them has influenced my step daughters views…he seems to have a mission to change any believer). He told us a year ago he was homosexual. No, we had no idea and were clueless. Heck, I set him up on dates with young ladies. I believe he is very angry. The twins who are in their twenties and their older brother who is now in Afghanistan in the Army were all raised in Texas and went to a private Christian school of which they all seem to rebel from. Plus they know the word and seem to know how to twist it in order to further their cause. So, last night I felt sad and alone. I wondered of I make any difference. I wonder when my husband might leave me. The darker this world gets the more I am listening to preachers online and doing my own studies. I think of scriptures that Jesus says He did not come to bring peace but division, even in your very homes. Dividing those who love Him from those who do not know Him. I will not stop following Christ. I do pray that I am not living these last days standing alone in my own family.

Leave a Reply

