To Be Content


Jan Brueghel the Elder, John the Baptist preaching

Jan Brueghel the Elder, John the Baptist preaching (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It is a known fact that many in today’s workforce feel deeply discontented. Many say, “If only I had a better boss…If only I could make more money…If I could just work for that company…” And it goes on and on. Have you ever had that feeling in your life? I know I have, and some of the greatest advice I was ever given was to pray about it.

It was over two thousand years ago when John the Baptist exhorted disgruntled Roman soldiers to be content with their earnings. He encouraged them to do their work unto the Lord and not for man, for man will use you. Luke 3:14 says; Likewise the soldiers asked him, saying, “And what shall we do?” So he said to them, “Do not intimidate anyone or accuse falsely, and be content with your wages.” John did not encourage soldiers to go into another profession, however, he did instruct them to act justly and mercifully with those under their authority.

Furthermore, we can grow content when we see God as our sole provider: Proverbs 30:8-9 says; Remove falsehood and lies far from me; Give me neither poverty nor riches, feed me with the food allotted to me; lest I be full and deny You, and say, “Who is the Lord?” or lest I be poor and steal, and profane the name of my God. As Paul said in 1 Corinthians 4:6-Do not add to His words, lest He rebuke you, and you be found a liar.

We can grow content as we focus on the necessities of life: 1 Timothy 6: 7-8 which says; “For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain that we can carry nothing out. And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content. The Bible condemns the desire to get rich, not because having money is a sin, but because money makes a terrible master. People who make it their goal to get rich do serve money, and therefore can’t serve God.

Much of our restlessness comes from desiring the many perks our affluent culture offers. But do we really need them? Can we get along without designer jeans? God will often supply our wants out of His goodness and grace, but He promises to supply only our needs. It is possible that we grow content, I encourage all, myself included to express gratitude for what we have, rather than complain about what we’re missing: Hebrews 13:5 says; “Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content for such things as you have.” Ecclesiastes 6:9 says; “Better is the sight of the eyes than the wandering of desire.”

While God has already blessed us with so much stuff, Satan spends a great amount of time trying to redirect our focus to what eludes us, thus fostering a malignant virus of discontent. Instead, try taking inventory of all that God has blessed you with and thank Him for each and every blessing you note. We can find our greatest source of contentment in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Philippians 4: 11-13 says; Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content. I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both t be full and to be hungry, both to abound to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

When we are without Jesus we can do nothing, with Him nothing is impossible. The demands and stresses of life can easily overwhelm any of us, but they are no match for the risen Son of God. It is imperative that we place Christ in the center of our lives, when we do we will be successful in Him alone. Our communion with the Lord can fill our hearts to overflowing measures. Psalm 37:4 says; “Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”

Therefore, I hope and pray that we all can agree, and pray for one another in this regard. We all have the ability to be content in this journey we call life, continue to seek the Lord in all things and be content my friends.

Father, I thank you for your Son Jesus Christ who shed His blood on the cross for all our sins. Father I come before you with a repentant heart asking for your forgiveness. Father, I pray that the words you have given me this day will bring encouragement and understanding to all who drink from this fount. Thank you God. Lord, I ask that you continue to protect, provide for, shine your wonderful light through, and shower you blessings from above on all your children. I pray in the name of your wonderful Son Jesus Christ, Amen!

Youth leader,

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Be Content

  1. thoughts in motion says:

    See? It does not matter our differences in religion…My church is the forest, my praises unto Spirit are the calls of birds and bugs, and I need nothing else to be happy as this Song will always sing within my heart. We are so caught up in the materialistic that we forget what we truly are, and we lose sight of how little of this crap we really need to maintain contentment. The blessings of the Earth are ours we just need to see it. Many blessings on this gorgeous sunny day…and thank you for the like on my poetry…I forgot to mention that in my previous comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

