The Son


Good Friday Morning: Jesus in Prison

Good Friday Morning: Jesus in Prison (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After spending some time with the Lord this morning He spoke to me in a truly unique way. When I say unique, I mean far different than usual. People, even fellow Christians get an eery feeling when the word prison is brought up. Truth is, prison is part of every day life as we know it. Many friends and families are affected by loved ones making a wrong decision leading them to a life of incarceration.

Hebrews 13: 1-6 says; Let brotherly love continue. Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels. Remember the prisoners as if chained with them-those who are mistreated-since you yourselves are in the body also. Marriage is honorable among all, and the bed undefiled; but fornicators and adulterers God will judge. Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Se we may boldly say: “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?”

The Lord put it on my heart to share the words a dear friend of mine wrote in a dark hour. We were in segregation under investigation when he penned these words. His name is David and he is doing a life sentence in the state of Kansas. I just want to say thank you brother for all you did for me, you are in my prayers daily. The name of the poem he wrote is The Son. I hope you enjoy it friends.

The Son

My life‘s been full of raging storms,

When one was gone, another comes.

The shelters I ran to were always wrong,

The ones I chose were not that strong.

For when it rained, I’d nearly drown,

The wind almost always blew me down.

And when I saw I could no more stay,

I’d find another place to play.

The ones I picked were in the path

Of one more storm that had to pass.

In the end, I found I could no longer laugh

And the TEARS I shed became my bath.

They fell while the tale I told,

Was shared by our loving God of old.

There, where His victory won,

At the feet of His precious Son.

Now the storms of hell I’ve lived are lost

Washed away before the cross.

And all day long I praise the Lord

For freeing me of this life’s discord.

Behold! In my sky

A cloud there is not one,

For when I look

I see nothing but the Son.

It was more than a decade ago when Dave shared this poem with me, for some reason I kept hold of it. I read it 3 years prior to finding God when I was in Lansing. Now I know even at that time a seed was planted and it was being watered up until I found God. It’s crazy to look back on and actually see what God was doing when at the time I had absolutely no clue. Thanks again brother. Much love and respect.

Youth leader,

 

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Image | This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Son

  1. vsti2dgloria says:

    Bless your life and may God continue to give wisdom and sensitivity to hear his voice better every day, a blog that builds many lives Glory to God.!
    http://garmentsofglory.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

