Accountability=LOVE


Jesus is considered by scholars such as Weber ...

Jesus is considered by scholars such as Weber to be an example of a charismatic religious leader.(Photo credit: Wikipedia) Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

As a Christian believer we are to walk in the Spirit. Galatians 5: 16 says; I say then walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. When we accepted Christ as Lord and Savior, we willingly died on the cross with the Savior.. But believers must also crucify the fleshly desires connected with their as yet unglorified bodies. Galatians 5:24 says; And those who are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.  Therefore, we in the body of Christ have a responsibility to one another.

Many Christians object or do not like the idea of accountability because they don’t see how other people’s actions are any of their business. But the Bible insists that we in the body of Christ fulfill this responsibility along with everything else. For example, bearing one another’s burdens without prejudice.

In Galatians 6: 1-3 the Apostle Paul spoke these words; Brethren, if a man is overtaken in any trespass, you who are spiritual restore such a one in a spirit of gentleness, considering yourself lest you also be tempted. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ. For if anyone thinks himself to be something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself. Thus, no maturing Christian can ever say, “I don’t need the church,” because Jesus tells us that we all have work to do in the church, we are part of the body that brings about harmony. Meaning we cannot carry the burdens of those we have nothing to do with.

Paul taught that if a believer is caught in sin, the strong members of the church are to help shoulder the responsibility of that person’s sin. They are to work with the sinner to help him get back on track. This implies that our sin is other people’s business; and conversely, their sin becomes part of our responsibility. No where in Scripture are we told that our sin is something just between us and God.

Allow me to share this story I was reading the other day, it’s a great illustration of what Paul said in Galatians 6: 1-3… After you read this story ask yourself this question? Do I need to work on my accountability?

A woman in our church in Austin was married for only a short time when her husband revealed his homosexuality. Soon afterwards he left her to be with his lover. She told me something I shall never forget. “After I was divorced,” she said, “several of my friends came to me and said they knew he was gay before we married. When I asked them why they didn’t say anything, they replied, “We didn’t think it was any of our business.” Could you imagine how this woman felt during this time? Yet her friends knew.

After reading this little story I was reminded of my darkest hour in prison, the loss of my father, whom God used to save me. When I accepted Jesus, I said, “I want to serve you O’ Lord, to the greatest of my ability, I want to be your soldier.” To this day I stand on that with all my being, I sugar coat nothing for no one. I keep it 100% Jesus. I do not and will not stand in silence watching a friend make a mistake. I have noticed this resolution makes me very unpopular, but I do not serve the Lord that I may win a contest like many do. People have actually left the church over things I have confronted them about, it’s their choice. Naturally, guilt begins to overwhelm my heart and I tell myself maybe I should just keep my mouth shut. Then I remember Solomon’s words in Proverbs 28:23 which says; “He who rebukes a man will afterward find more favor than he who flatters with the tongue.”

What does it say in John 8:32? If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free. This happened to me many times early in my walk. I know how it feels to be rebuked, it’s not fun being on the receiving end. Today I can say thank you God for those times because they have given me a greater understanding of your word in truth. It amazes me how often people come back to me or write letters to apologize for their reaction to my warnings. More often than not, they admit they should have listened just like I did.

So I must encourage you friends;in an accountability relationship you are not responsible for how the other person responds to your words. God gave them the ability to reason and make choices, it’s up to them how they receive your words. However, you are responsible to tell the truth in love, and to continue to love that person through the process of accountability.

Father, I thank you for your Son Jesus Christ who shed His blood on the cross for all our sins. Humbly before you I stand with a repentant heart asking for your forgiveness and mercy. Father I pray that the words you have given me this day bring a new measure of encouragement to those who read it. I pray that you continue to bless all of your children, allow your Spirit to come through them like a rushing mighty wind for all to see that they may walk closer to you Father. Thank you God. I pray that you protect us, provide for us, and shower us with your wonderful blessings. I pray in the name of your wonderful Son Jesus Christ, Amen!

Youth leader,

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accountability=LOVE

  1. Pingback: The Son | S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Leave a Reply

