Broken Vessel


A Broken Life

A Broken Life (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I spent the first 35 years of my life wandering around in the darkness convinced I knew what I was doing. It is no secret, I was simply lost and broken in a vicious world determined to consume my very being. My own selfish desires led me to spending most of my adult life in prison. Talk about a revelation, I thought I was already wandering aimlessly in what I thought couldn’t get any worse. Wrong again:) My darkest moments were just ahead, lurking in the shadows in great hope to devour what remained.

I remember when God first spoke to me in a small still voice. He was trying to convey the message that He has a great plan for me. Honestly, I felt disgust in my heart thinking it being a sick joke, and hadn’t I been through enough already. Give me a break! This God continued to speak with great persistence into my life. Finally, one day I just spoke from my heart with brutal honesty. I said I am nobody; my life is meaningless, I am broken to the core, and I am not worthy of love. I then uttered these words: God please go bother someone else because I am where I belong.

Let’s just say He didn’t listen to me friends, and I am so grateful for that to this day. Praise God! This God soon convinced me that He had the power to mend any broken vessel. Still, I would often ask myself this question.. How can God use an imperfect person like me? I believe without doubt that we all have done this on occasion for not one is exempt. Allow me to share how God can accomplish His plan through anyone who feels broken. I will begin in 1 John.

When we accept Jesus Christ as our personal Lord and Savior, God’s Holy Spirit comes to dwell or reside within us. Through the power of the Holy Spirit, God enables us to do everything He asks, making the possibilities for service infinite and without limitations. Do not allow the strongholds of this world convince or allow you to feel as if you are a broken vessel that God will not use. Therefore, I encourage you, if you have been sitting on the bench allowing sin and shame discourage you from God’s great plan for your life, “STOP!” Do not let your feelings overshadow the TRUTH!

How Great Is Our God People? God is so great that He forgives you, restores you, and uses you to restore other people. 1 John 1:9 says; If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. His forgiveness is as far from the east to the west, from crimson red to white as wool, and always faithful. It is important to understand that once we have confessed and turned from your sins, we are cleansed, but God does not purify us and empower us with His Spirit only to make us feel good. God’s purification process fulfills the Scriptures and equips us for service.

So the question isn’t “Do we have the power?” It is, “How will we use the power?” Once we have discovered and begin asking the right question, ask yourself and take these words into consideration. If you have the conviction of inadequacy seek and ask God to deliver you from the barrier that keeps you from the TRUTH. What does it mean? This is more than merely feeling as though God can’t use you if you walk in the flesh; and it’s not simply knowing that God alone is sovereign. It is believing and realizing that without the Holy Spirit, you are incapable, unwilling, and to weak to do what He asks of you.

Many have fallen not knowing the distinction between purity and perfection. I am speaking of purity in life, meaning purity is continual, immediate confession and repentance from sin. When we are quick to do this, God is faithful, and no barrier stands in front of us giving seed to inadequacy in our walk. When we embrace purity our prayer life is enriched because we have willingly and genuinely acknowledged our inadequacy, now we are consistently reaching up to God through prayer knowing where our strength comes from. Revelation; now we know that He is our lifeline and that we cannot live life without Him.

Now we come to believe. Matthew 21:22 says; “And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.” When we ask according to God’s will, He answers faithfully for He cannot lie. The ball is in our court now, we must believe that He will do what He says without doubt. Upon this realization we become engaged in our service to God, for He has given us the Holy Spirit, and He wants us to be zealous, yet, eager in using it. Hallelujah!

Whether you are ministering to one person or many, the power of God’s Spirit can change lives no matter who they are, where they are, what they have done, or what they think of themselves. God was big enough to transform your heart and save you from the slavery of sin. He is also big enough to cleanse you, help you rise above discouragement, and use you to bring influence to the lives who claim they are merely a broken vessel. Why? All for His glory.

Father God, I thank you for your Son Jesus Christ who shed His blood on the cross for all our sins, humbly I come before you with a repentant heart asking for your forgiveness. Thank you for a great mother’s day yesterday, thank you for the words you have given me, and thank you for all you have given me. I am truly grateful for all you have done in my life and others. I lift my hands up to you and praise your Holy Name. I give you all glory for you are the One True Living God. I pray the words you have given me bring encouragement and understanding to anyone who takes the time to read them. I thank you for all who support me and believe in what I am doing. Thank you God. I pray you continue to bless all your children and provide for them in all things. I pray in the name of your wonderful Son Jesus Christ, Amen!

Youth leader,

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Broken Vessel

  1. Pingback: Will You Sing For Victory? | S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries

Leave a Reply

