Rise Above With Jesus!


Flag of the United States of America

Flag of the United States of America (Photo credit: Wikipedia) In God We Trust!

Living in a world of materialism, distraction, and adversity isn’t the easiest situation for God‘s children. Are you familiar with the phrase; “Keeping up with the Benjamin’s?” Many people all across the United States fall into this trap every day. The phrase represents the almighty dollar. For example, I see that the neighbor has went out and purchased a new boat for the family. Suddenly, without reason, I go out and buy a boat that is nicer to one up the neighbor. At the same time I have fallen farther in debt, I have fallen into the devil’s snare, and I’m all stressed out.

It’s absolutely ludicrous if you ask me, life is not a competition based on material gain. Yet, people treasure these objects and spend a great amount of time talking about them because it distracts them from what is truly important. However, you rarely hear an individual speak about Jesus Christ, or where our true treasures lie. I know people who do this, and I can see that they are truly miserable facing adversity. This is merely an example of many things that bring adversity into our lives.

Truth be told, faith says that God is in control of all things. Do you know what adversity does for us? It reveals our measure of faith in God, and it measures our love for God. When adversity comes your way, no matter what it is, you could actually say God is testing me. Therefore, I encourage you to hold on to His promises with all your might to present yourself as a truly faithful, loyal, and obedient servant to the One True Living God and you will be blessed. That is why we, as children of God must rise above all adversity. Allow me to share these Scriptures with you.

Mark 4:35-41 says; On the same day, when evening had come, He said to them, “Let us crossover to the other side.” Now when they had left the multitude, they took Him along in the boat as He was. And other little boats were also with Him. And a great windstorm arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that it was already filling. But He was in the stern, asleep on a pillow. And they awoke Him and said to Him, “Teacher, do You not care that we are perishing?” Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm. But He said to them, “Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?” And they feared exceedingly, and said to one another, “Who can this be, that even the wind and the sea obey Him!”

When adversity or hardship comes our way, do we respond by saying God, I trust in you to bring me through this, that I might rise above the adversity. Or do we say I am doomed, there is absolutely no hope and there is nothing anyone can do.

God sent the storm on the sea of Galilee to teach Jesus’ disciples a lesson on faith. It’s like this, when Jesus said, “Let us cross over to the other side,” they should have known that Jesus expected a successful trip. However, when the storm broke loose and the wind threatened the boat they began to panic. What happens to our faith during times of panic? It begins to fade away because we have taken our eyes off Jesus. Then the terrified disciples asked Jesus, “Teacher, do You not care we are perishing?”

How many times have we asked the similar questions when adversity enters our life? Jesus, don’t you love me, don’t you care about what is happening to me, why don’t you do something about this Jesus. Jesus is waiting for you to stand and rise above the situation by trusting in His promises. We are to rebuke all adversity that comes against us in the name of Jesus, just as Jesus did the wind.

God has given each one of us a measure of faith, see Romans 12:3. He expects us to overcome our fears because fear always accompanies adversity; in fact, a degree of fear is what makes something an adversity instead of just another experience. Fear causes us to project the very worst scenario that could happen at any given time.

On the other hand, faith tells the opposite story. Faith proclaims that God is in control and that all things work together for the good. Faith says that we will rise above all adversity, and that our final state will be better than anything we have experienced thus far.

Friends, I encourage you to allow adversity to call your faith to action rather than into question. Adversity can reveal the areas you need to act in faith and not fear. So, the next time adversity comes your way, say to yourself, “Now is the time to use my faith in a new way, meaning trusting in all of God’s promises.” Then you will see that the more you take action by exercising your faith, the greater it becomes, yet preparing you for the next storm. Hallelujah!

Father, thank you for the words you have given me for this day. I pray they can be of encouragement to those who read this post. Have a wonderful day! I pray in the name of your wonderful Son Jesus Christ, Amen

Youth leader,

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
Aside | This entry was posted in Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

