Just ask God


Prison doors

Prison doors (Photo credit: rytc)

While in Lansing Correctional Facility I found God. After accepting Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior I had 2.5 years to walk down. My release date was December 3, 2009. As you may already know God isn’t to popular in the prison system. Despite the fact, I was filled with joy unspeakable and eager to serve the Lord to the fullest.

As God was shaping me, molding me, and teaching me how to pray I began to feel His presence in a greater way. One night after lock-down my heart was truly unsettled. I said, Lord, up to this point you have answered all of my prayers, however, something is still missing, what is it you want me to do. I closed my eyes while pondering how God has changed my life up to this point.

As the sprinkling of rain transforms into a heavy down-pour, a silence overcame the entire cell-house. When it gets quiet like this, it means something is about to happen. I listened carefully, and then I heard a voice utter these words. Just ask him and that was it,back to business as usual. It was almost like it didn’t happen.

I said this to myself at that moment, I feel like he was talking to me. I fell to my knees by my bunk, clasped my hands together, closed my eyes, and bowed my head in humility. I said thank you for your Son Jesus Christ who shed his blood on the cross for all of our sins. Thank you for your grace, mercy, forgiveness, and the free gift of eternal life. I come before you with a repentant heart and I ask what is that you want me to do?

I knew my words became manifest, and our loving God heard them. Now I just had to be patient, keep my eyes upon Jesus, and listen for His voice. Within a month, ten people spoke these words to me in casual conversation. You are a great motivational/inspirational speaker bro, you have a wonderful gift. A ministry? I couldn’t believe it at first, not only was I in awe, I was completely dumbfounded. Without doubt my prayer was answered and I knew it was God.

Isaiah 40:31 says; But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles. They shall run and not grow weary. They shall walk and not faint.

Wow! Was I excited! When I got back to my cell I began to pray immediately. I asked God what would the name be? That night in the chapel I was telling a buddy of mine about this ministry God had called me to do. As we were listening to the volunteer speaker he handed me a small piece of paper. I opened it up, penned in blue ink were these words. S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries Inspired by; God.

S.P.I.R.I.T is actually an acronym. Success, Perseverance, Inspiration, Recovery, Influence, and Transformation(etc.) empowered by the Godhead three in one. Inspired by; God meaning His Divine Word giving Him all glory.

After this was revealed I began to pray fervently, earnestly, and ceaselessly seeking His will in this ministry. How great is our God? People began to come to me on the yard while I was working out, in the chow hall, in the cell-house, it didn’t matter friends they had questions and they wanted answers. I would pray, ask God for the Words, and because He is always faithful I was blessed.

After my release I went to live with my oldest sister, MeMe and her husband in Ottawa, KS. I continued to pray and seek God in my life in all things by faith. He spoke to me and told me to start a group so I did that. Then I said Father, I know nothing about computers. Amazingly enough, He said son I know, it’s taken care of. I met a guy in a group I attended in Lawrence, KS who is a good friend of mine and a computer wizard. He set this up, showed me how to get to this page and I just pen the words. Believe it or not, my computer skills have improved over the 2.5 years I have been writing these posts.

Matthew 6:33 says; Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.

Hallelujah! Not only am I praying earnestly,  I am asking you to pray for me as well in regards of this ministry. I give God all glory, honor, and praise. Thank you all and have a wonderful day!

Youth leader,

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
This entry was posted in God, HolySpirit, Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just ask God

  1. Continue to stay in the place or attitude of prayer
    Continue to listen and watch for a clearer picture. God doesn’t reveal the full picture, from beginning to end, he does in bits and pieces, so cultivate a habit of continued watchfulness
    Continue feeding yourself and growing in your knowledge of Him
    Seek out someone, older in age and in the faith, one with a track record of fruitfulness and faithfulness to God, and ask for him to be your mentor.
    finally, be strong in the Lord, never give hope, you are born to do great, God’s got his hand on you, to use you mightily…

    just my two-cents, brother.
    walter

Leave a Reply

