Enrich your time alone with God


English: fragment of Epistle of James, verso

English: fragment of Epistle of James, verso (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was lying on my bunk in Lansing prison one morning shortly after I gave my life to God. I said are you their God? Hello, hello, I didn’t hear a thing, and at the same time the light was growing dimmer. I sat up to grab my shirt off the desk with feelings of disgust and abandonment. I took hold of the shirt sleeve to snatch it towards me but there was a heaviness to it. So, without hesitation I gave it a good strong yank. The shirt came along with a book. It was my Bible. It landed on the cell floor face up and open. From nowhere I uttered the words, forgive me God. I gently took hold while flipping it over to see what book it was on.

Interestingly enough, I asked myself this question. God, is this a sign? Later I found out that God works in mysterious ways. It was the book of James. The first Scripture I read was in James 4:8 which says; Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded. Let’s just say He didn’t have to tell me twice, I knew that happened for a reason and that reason being God.

So ask yourself this question. Have you ever been alone with your Bible ready to have a devotional time with the Lord, yet felt aimless? You begin to flip through the pages and decide to read from Proverbs. Suddenly you remember another appointment, say a little prayer while promising to pray more later and you never do. You know the end result, all day you will be thinking about how you left with your heart in the wrong place. I encourage you to pray before you open the Bible and ask God to reveal what he has in store for you that day.

Don’t allow negative thoughts such as guilt or frustration impede your progress-you are not alone. The important thing is that you are making an effort to gain wisdom from the one true living God. That is a victory in itself my friends. You may have a great desire for real intimacy with your personal Savior, however, remember that He longs for it even more. James 4:8 promises, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” I believe this Scripture will give you direction on how to have a closer walk with Jesus. His Word is specific, so if your goal is specific you will accomplish it through and by His Word alone.

I encourage you to select a plan that fits your life style and level of understanding. When you begin this journey it is important to remember that spending time with God just doesn’t fit into your daily routine. Pray about it and He will reveal the perfect time for you. When this happens be sure to schedule your alone time, and then jealously protect your alone time with God. I say this because when the adversary sees this happening in your life he will do anything in his power to keep you from it. Truth is, the more you honor the divine appointment, the greater you will desire to protect it. Why? Because you have now realized that you are being enriched.

As the physical body needs food for nourishment, the spiritual body needs food for enrichment. Everyone is different and lives different lifestyles whether it is slow or fast paced. Truth is, if you can find time to eat three times a day on average, through fervent prayer God will reveal the perfect time for spiritual food. Besides that, seeking His truth on your own can spur amazing growth.

Don’t allow the adversary to whisper in your ear saying; you don’t need a Bible, you don’t need God, you have no idea what you are doing, or you don’t have time for that non sense. I say this because when he sees that you are about to embark upon a great journey with the Alpha and Omega, he understands that he is about to lose another battle. He came to steal, kill, and destroy with no prejudice. He is misery and misery loves company my friends.

Pray ceaselessly my friends in all things, for God has surrounded you with warring angels as you stand on the ROCK. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13.

Father, I thank you for your Son Jesus Christ who shed His blood on the cross for all of our sins. I come before you with a repentant heart, humbly asking for your forgiveness. I thank you for the words you placed in my heart this day, yet, I pray they touch the hearts of those who read them. I hope they bring peace, joy, understanding, and encouragement in their time of need. I pray they continue to seek you in all things. I thank you God for all you have given me and for what I have. I am so grateful for all the opportunities you have revealed in my life. I thank you for your Word which guides me every day. Hallelujah! I pray in the name of your wonderful Son Jesus Christ, Amen! Have a wonderful day friends!

Youth leader,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About spiritministries

I am a man who has learned not to rely on my own understanding the hard way. God revealed himself to me two and a half years before I got out of prison. It's the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. There is truly only one way and that is to have a relationship with God. Since my release S.P.I.R.I.T Ministries has came to fruition. We meet every Wednesday night at 7p.m. God asked me to write a book, in 18 months I finished Rock Bottom; Inspired by God, He provided me with a web blog, thank you Andrew, as you can see, I am a motivational-inspirational speaker, and singer. We now have a band known as The Un-Scene, you can find the link on my web site and check it out on face book. I am just a man who was given true life while in prison, freedom, salvation, and unspeakable joy by the grace of God. We go many places to speak and sing for the glory of God. I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything a part from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. If you would like to hear us just contact me and God willing we will remain obedient. God bless you all.
This entry was posted in God, Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enrich your time alone with God

  1. Awesome post! I get so distracted in prayer and often give up after a few minutes of not feeling God. This is a great reflection for prayer and encourgement to make that time for Him.

Leave a Reply

